HEXATONIC SCALES AND THEIR ASSOCIATED CHORDS. The Hexatonic scales are those having 6 notes. Next, the two most important types of hexatonic . Hexatonic scale, also called six-note scale or six-tone scale, musical scale containing six different tones within an octave. Using the syllables ut, re, me, fa, sol. Hexatonic Scales. The only common Hexatonic (6-note) scales we find in modern western music are the blues scale and the “whole tone scale.” Both of these.

Author: Dakinos Kikora
Country: Zambia
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Marketing
Published (Last): 28 July 2006
Pages: 471
PDF File Size: 19.27 Mb
ePub File Size: 5.62 Mb
ISBN: 738-8-96786-970-9
Downloads: 21127
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Kajile

I first heard of it as a teenager when I read about it in an article in a Guitar Magazine.

Chords and scales The Major Blues Scale, being hexatonic, has six notes: Your contribution may be further edited by our staff, and its publication is subject to our hexatonci approval. Minor Also Classified As: Wonderful answer; I’d never caught that the Holst here is missing that fourth scale degree. Whole Tone scale representation. Due to the existing symmetry in this scale, 3 from its 6 notes can be considered the tonic: Interesting that you consider not having tritones in the music as an advantage.

The Hexatonic Scales based on A

Dekkadeci then you clearly haven’t heard this version yet! C Augmented scale Due to the existing symmetry in this scale, 3 from its 6 notes hexaotnic be considered the tonic: You can think of it as the Pentatonic Major Scale plus a flatted third 3 scale degree.

Most classic rock fans think of this as the Allman Brothers Scale. Major and minor chords Another famous use of the augmented scale in jazz is in Oliver Nelson’s solo on ” Stolen Moments “. The Hexatonic Major scale doesn’t go quite so far, it keeps the fourth scale degree and only drops the seventh. Internet URLs are the csales. An Augmented scale is composed by 6 notes in alternating intervals of 1. Major Scles Scale Unlike hextaonic Major or Minor scale, which have functional meaning they sound good at least sometimes modes built on every note in the scale, the Blues Scale only has one functional mode, the Major Blues scale.


The hexatonic scale that you get by throwing out one of the notes from the diatonic scale so that it becomes atritonic or by adding one note to the pentatonic scale seems to be less well known than its neighbors.

I know plenty of jazz musicians who’d balk at that. There was a problem with your submission. There is this semitone and you can get more interesting melodies hsxatonic of it. You can make it easier for us to review and, hopefully, publish your contribution by keeping a few points in mind.

Its representation on the Harmonic Wheel is very simple, for it corresponds to 2 non-consecutive spiral lines Fig.

Contact our editors with your feedback. I do not have much music background, only took a couple of music theory and harmony classes at the uni, so maybe I am mistaken and the hexatonic scale is actually more widely used than I think?

Next, the two most important types of hexatonic scales are described. It turns out that this hexatonic scale is around more than I suspected: But, unlike with the heptatonic scale, you do not have tritones anywhere.

Dorian Phrygian Lydian Mixolydian. They can be easily described by the addition of two triads a tone apart, e. The names of the degrees of the hexachord are ut, re, mi, fa, sol, and la also called solmization [ q.

Hexatonic scales and their associated chords

I started thinking about it in the context of algorithmic composition. The blues scale is a hexatonic scale, isn’t it? Six note scales seem to naturally run in 3 or 6 rhythms, 7 or 8 note scales seem to naturally run in 4 rhythms, which tends to be our default setting.


But it’s usually limited to short motifs: So it might well be argued that it’s actually heptatonic but simply keeps in a small range of the scale. Do you know any pieces that use this scale? Jazz players often use the construction 1 2 3 5 6, known as the Coltrane Minor Pentatonic. Its representation on the Harmonic Wheel is very simple, for it corresponds to 2 consecutive spiral lines Fig.

Retrieved from ” https: Sign up or log in Sign up using Google. If you prefer to suggest your own revision of the article, you can go to edit mode requires login. A hexatonic scale can also be formed by stacking perfect fifths. The title was not very good or precise; however, in the second paragraph of the post I explain which hexatonic scale I mean. But when we say the Hexatonic Minor Scale we are referring to this version, because it is the most common type without an official name like Blues.

Does it have something to do with the fact that 5 and 7 are prime numbers while 6 is not?

Inversion of intervals 4. Any text you add should be original, not copied from other sources. At the bottom of the article, feel free to list any sources that support your changes, so that we can fully understand their context.